Entry status

Entry status options

To keep track of which entries you have reviewed and approved, you can assign one of the following statuses to each entry:

  • Submitted – When someone submits an entry, the entry status changes to Submitted.
  • Reviewed – Once you view an entry on the Entries page, the entry status automatically changes to Reviewed. (Beginning Oct. 25, 2021, entries will no longer automatically change from Submitted to Reviewed when viewed. This will become a manual status change. Entries will automatically change status from Unread to Read when viewed.)
  • Complete – After you are finished reviewing an entry, you can set the status to Complete.
  • Incomplete – Before submission, entries saved via Save & Resume have a status of Incomplete. You can change entries back to Incomplete at any time. However, changing the status of incomplete entries will cause them to be submitted, potentially sending emails and triggering integrations with information that may not be complete. Additionally, entries with payment are set to Incomplete when the payment is declined or not yet completed.

Change entry status

There are two ways to change the status of an entry:

  1. Open up an individual entry, and select a new status from drop down on the far right:
    Change the status of an entry.

  2. Select a single entry/multiple entries/the entire entry view from the Entries page. Then, use the Actions tab to change the status of all selected entries at once:
    Change the status of multiple entries.

Filter by entry status

You can use the Filter function to filter entries based on their status. Learn more about filtering entries.
Filtering entries by status.

Read and Unread

Mark entries as Read or Unread to:

  • Automatically mark which entries have been viewed
  • View entries without changing Submitted/Reviewed status

When entries are submitted, they will be initially marked as Unread. Once you view an entry on the Entries page, that entry automatically changes to Read. (Unread entries display in bold.)

To mark individual entries as Read or Unread:

  1. Open the Entries page for your form.
  2. Select the entry that you want to update.
  3. In the top right corner of the entry, select Read or Unread.
    Mark individual entries as Read or Unread.

To mark entries in bulk as Read or Unread:

  1. Open the Entries page for your form.
  2. Select the entry or entries that you want to update.
  3. Go to Actions > Mark As and select Read or Unread.
    Manually mark entries as Read or Unread using the Actions option.

Please note that Read and Unread status act independently of our other entry status options (Submitted, Reviewed, Complete, Incomplete). While Read/Unread status cannot be used to trigger emails or integrations associated with the form, they can enable you to view an entry without unintentionally triggering such automations.

Quick Tip

Entries with a status of Incomplete cannot be set to Read or Unread.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I create custom entry status options?