The Forms Settings can be accessed from your form’s Build Page by either selecting your form’s title, or clicking the Form Settings button at the bottom on your screen.
Title and description
You can change your form’s Title or Description by clicking on the Title or by clicking the Form Settings button in the bottom bar on the Build page. This will bring the left-hand Form Settings panel back into view.
The Title is what the form will be called internally and will also appear at the top of the form.
The Description will appear at the top of your form underneath the Title, and gives people a brief description of what the form is about.
Encrypting your entry data keeps it safe and prevents it from being transmitted out of your Cognito Forms account. You must encrypt any form and protect any field that contains sensitive information, such as: Social Security numbers, Driver’s license numbers, and other personally identifiable information.
Selecting the “Use with Lookup field?” option will allow encrypted entry data to be accessible to other forms through the Lookup field. We do not recommend making any sensitive data available through the Lookup field – the data will be loaded behind the scenes and could potentially be exposed. Please note that if you set up a Lookup field prior to enabling data encryption, the Lookup field will continue to work. Additionally, the Lookup field will still look up data from forms that have been archived but not deleted.
The “Limit Form Availability?” option allows you to define the certain times your form will display and accept submissions. Check this box to see the expanded options.
Use the calendar and clock icons to choose the time when your form will begin displaying and accepting entries. If someone visits your form before this time, they will not be able to see your form.
If you set only the “Availability Start” date and time, your form will be able to accept submissions indefinitely once the start time has passed.
Use the calendar and clock icons to choose the time when your form will stop displaying and accepting entries. If someone visits your form after this time, they will not be able to see your form.
If you set only the “Availability End” date and time, your form will be able to accept submissions as soon as you publish, but only until the end time has passed. Any time fields left blank will default to 12:00 AM.
Not available message
If someone visits your form when it is unavailable, they will only see the “Not Available Message”. You can customize this message by changing the text in this field and saving your form.
Sharing a form as a template
Sharing forms allows an organization to provide a copy of one or more forms to another organization or user without the need to grant that user access to that organization’s data. By providing another organization or user a link, that user may view all available shared forms with or without logging into Cognito Forms.
To share a form as a template:
- Select the form you want to share on the forms homepage to open up the builder.
- Click the form title to display the Form Settings pane on the left. Select Share As Template? in order to obtain the share link. Save your form.
- Copy the share link and send the link to another user (via e-mail, IM, etc.) in order to allow that user to make a copy of the form.
- When the invited user clicks on the link, they will see your shared forms with the specific form appearing in a preview window. At this point, the invited user may click Try It Now! in order to open a copy of the shared form in the builder, or Close to see other forms that have been shared by your organization.
With Entry link sharing enabled on your form, you can send links to your users that allow them to either view or edit their form entries after they’ve already been submitted. You can send these links automatically to every user after submission, or manually share them with individual users at any time.
Analytics & Tracking
Enable Analytics & Tracking to learn more about your forms and users. Once enabled, each click on your embedded form generates a pageview in Google Analytics. In addition to Google Analytics, you can also use tracking pixels to connect your form to Facebook or another third party ad service.
Developer Mode allows you to easily view and customize the internal names of the fields on your form. For example, if you have a Choice field labelled "Please tell us where you found us", you can use Developer Mode to set the internal name of the field to simply "Choice1". That way, the field will appear as "Choice1" in calculations instead of the system generated name ("PleaseTellUsWhereYouFoundUs").
By default, your form’s location settings will be set to your Organization’s location settings. To change these settings, please refer to our help topic.
To change the country, language, currency or time zone for a specific form, go to your form’s Build tab and select your form’s title or click the Form Settings button in the bottom bar. These settings will appear in the left-hand Form Settings panel.
As part of our location settings, you can use your form’s Country setting to determine the format of dates and numbers. Setting your Country will also default your Currency and Language settings.
The Language setting will default to your country’s native language. If your country’s language is not one of our supported languages, it will default to English. You can change this when setting up your form.
The Currency setting will default to your country’s most commonly used currency. You can change this when setting up your form.
The Time Zone is determined by your organization’s time zone and will be used to show correct times for your form entries. You can change this when setting up your form.