Who needs to be Section 508 compliant?

Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 requires Federal agencies to make their electronic and information technology accessible to people with disabilities.

As such, it applies to all agencies and institutions that receive federal funding. This includes:

  • Government agencies
  • Federal-funded nonprofits
  • Public higher education institutions
  • Public K-12 schools

If you work with these organizations on their IT, websites or other electronic communication – it likely applies to the work you do for them as well.

If you’re not sure if Section 508 rules apply to you, contact your compliance officer or visit Section508.gov.

Learn more in our Accessibility guide.