User permission levels

You can assign or change a user’s permissions by clicking on the user from the User list on Organization’s settings.

Global Permission

The global permission a user is granted affects what they can do within your organization, and is the default permission granted when new forms are created within the organization.

Setting global user permissions.

  • Owners can manage the organization, plans, and billing, as well as manage users, forms, and entries. Only owners can assign other owners or delete the organization.
  • Administrators can manage users, forms, and entries.
  • Editors can manage form entries, but cannot build or publish forms.
  • Reviewers can only view or export form entries, but cannot make changes.
  • None can log in, will only have to access to forms for which they have been given specific permissions.

Detailed Permission Comparison

Owner Administrator Editor Reviewer None
Invite users Yes Yes No No No
View user permissions Yes Yes No No No
Change user permissions Yes Yes No No No
Delete users Yes Yes No No No
Assign new owners Yes No No No No
Remove owners Yes No No No No
View billing information Yes No No No No
Edit billing information Yes No No No No
Change plan Yes No No No No
View plan usage Yes No No No No
View billing history Yes No No No No
Delete organization Yes No No No No
View general settings Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Edit general settings Yes No No No No
View default location Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Edit default location Yes No No No No
Account
Log in Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes

Form Permissions

A user’s global permission can be overridden on an individual form.

Setting form permissions.

  • Administrators can manage the form and its entries including assigning permissions to users on that form.
  • Editors can manage the form’s entries but cannot build or publish the form.
  • Reviewers can only view or export the form’s entries but cannot make changes.
  • None has no access to the form and cannot view it on the forms home page.

Detailed Form Permission Comparison

Administrator Editor Reviewer None
Assign form permissions Yes No No No
Build form Yes No No No
Delete form Yes No No No
Publish form Yes No No No
View entries Yes Yes Yes No
Create new entries Yes Yes No No
Edit entries Yes Yes No No
Change entry status Yes Yes No No
Delete entries Yes Yes No No
Export entries Yes Yes Yes No
View form on form home page Yes Yes Yes No
Move Form Yes No No No

Folder Permissions

This feature is available to organizations on the Enterprise plan.
Organizations on the Enterprise plan have the ability to set and manage user permissions on folders. By default, folder/form permissions are inherited from global permission levels. But, if necessary, you can assign permissions on a folder-by-folder basis.

Setting folder permissions.

  • Global Administrators can manage the folder and create new folders.
  • Folder Administrators can manage the folder, but cannot create new folders.
  • Editors/Reviewers can view forms in the folder, but cannot make changes to the folder.
  • None cannot make any changes to the folder, and cannot view the folder unless it contains forms the user has permission to access.

Detailed Folder Permission Comparison

Administrator Editor Reviewer None
Create folder Yes No No No
Delete folder Yes No No No
Archive folder Yes* No No No
Rename folder Yes No No No
View folder Yes Yes Yes Yes**
Add new form to folder Yes No No No
Move form to folder Yes No No No
Edit folder permissions Yes No No No

*You must be an administrator of every form in the folder to archive it.

**Folders will only appear if the folder contains forms the user has permission to access.