The Form Settings can be accessed from your form’s Build Page by either selecting your form’s title, or clicking the Form Settings button at the bottom on your screen.
Title and description
You can change your form’s Title or Description by clicking on the Title or by clicking the Form Settings button in the bottom bar on the Build page. This will bring the left-hand Form Settings panel back into view.
The form title is part of the URL for your form’s public web address. If you update the title, make sure to update your form’s direct link wherever you’ve already shared it.
The Title reflects the name of the form both internally and what is listed at the top of your form.
The Description appears at the top of your form underneath the Title, and gives form users a brief description of what the form is about.
Encrypting your entry data keeps it safe and prevents it from being transmitted out of your Cognito Forms account. You must encrypt any form and protect any field that contains sensitive information, such as: Social Security numbers, Driver’s license numbers, and other personally identifiable information.
Selecting the “Use with Lookup field?” option will allow this form’s entry data to be accessible to other forms through the Lookup field. Disabling this setting will prevent your form from being used as a lookup source for new Lookup fields, but will not impact any existing fields.
This option is off by default for HIPAA orgs, which automatically have form encryption turned on.
We do not recommend making any sensitive data available through the Lookup field – the data will be loaded behind the scenes and could potentially be exposed. Please note that if you set up a Lookup field prior to enabling data encryption, the Lookup field will continue to work. Additionally, the Lookup field will still look up data from forms that have been archived but not deleted.
Form availability times are based on your browser’s timezone. The time is stored in UTC and does not change or adjust across different timezones.
The “Limit Form Availability?” option allows you to define the certain times your form will display and accept submissions. When the form is unavailable, end users cannot submit new entries through the public link. However, workflow links and save links continue to work. To disable save links, simply disable Save & Resume in the form settings and save your changes.
Use the calendar and clock icons to choose the time when your form will begin displaying and accepting entries. If someone visits your form before this time, they will not be able to see your form.
If you set only the “Availability Start” date and time, your form will be able to accept submissions indefinitely once the start time has passed.
Use the calendar and clock icons to choose the time when your form will stop displaying and accepting entries. If someone visits your form after this time, they will not be able to see your form.
If you set only the “Availability End” date and time, your form will be able to accept submissions as soon as you publish, but only until the end time has passed. Any time fields left blank will default to 12:00 AM.
Not available message
If someone visits your form when it is unavailable, they will only see the “Not Available Message”. You can customize this message by changing the text in this field and saving your form.
Share as template
The “Share form as template?” option enables you to share a copy of your form. The provided link in this field can be shared with someone in another organization to allow them to use a copy of this form as a template.
Analytics & Tracking
Enable Analytics & Tracking to learn more about your forms and users. Once enabled, each click on your embedded form generates a pageview in Google Analytics. In addition to Google Analytics, you can also use tracking pixels to connect your form to Facebook or another third party ad service.
Developer Mode allows you to easily view and customize the internal names of the fields on your form. For example, if you have a Choice field labelled “Please tell us where you found us”, you can use Developer Mode to set the internal name of the field to simply “Choice1”. That way, the field will appear as “Choice1” in calculations instead of the system generated name (“PleaseTellUsWhereYouFoundUs”).
Country, language, currency and time zone settings cannot be changed once an entry has been received.
By default, your form’s location settings will be set to your Organization’s location settings. To change these settings, please refer to our help topic.
To change the country, language, currency or time zone for a specific form, go to your form’s Build tab and select your form’s title or click the Form Settings button in the bottom bar. These settings will appear in the left-hand Form Settings panel.
As part of our location settings, you can use your form’s Country setting to determine the format of dates and numbers. Setting your Country will also default your Currency and Language settings.
The Language setting will default to your country’s native language. If your country’s language is not one of our supported languages, it will default to English. You can change this when setting up your form.
The Currency setting will default to your country’s most commonly used currency. You can change this when setting up your form.
The Time Zone is determined by your organization’s time zone and will be used to show correct times for your form entries. You can change this when setting up your form.